happy valentine

I was having a clear out the other day (as I am prone to do so every now and again) and always feel a mix of satisfaction and extreme frustration when I do.

It is simple, whenever I try to be ruthless about some of the things we own that NEVER get looked at from year to year, I end up just tidying them up instead of throwing them out.

You know the things; the books you’ll never read, the pictures you’ll never frame, the clothes you’ll never wear (and may never have done), that wet suit from your one summer wind surfing, your granddad’s gardening stuff and generally ‘things’.

My idea of the perfect living environment is reasonably clear surfaces and I am constantly trying to achieve them but tend to fail!

Anyway, whilst doing the clearing, I came across a scruffy little orange note book filled with very neat schoolgirl writing that was verse after verse of valentine rhymes for the subject of your desires.

It was so funny to see my own self in handwritten form (which would all be done using a keyboard now). Most of them are just cute and quite childlike in their sentiment whilst some are a bit cheeky.  None of them is really saucy or outright sexy (thank goodness since I think I must only have been about 13 when I wrote them all out). I must have thought they were all good! Some even have ticks next to them so I invariably used them!

my absolute favourite is:-

dearest darling ducky 

though behind your ears are mucky

i don’t mind 

cos love is blind

dearest darling ducky

I wonder who the lucky young chap was who saw that scribbled in a valentine card that arrived on his door mat one february the 14th?

2 Comments on “happy valentine”

  1. thewienertakesitall says:

    I love that ducky poem! So cute


Leave a Reply

