food, glorious food

the last one!

We seem to be accumulating friends that are demons in the kitchen.  I already wax lyrical about my friend V and her culinary skills. All of our friends can put together a tidy supper party really and our new upstairs neighbours are rapidly joining the ranks of our foody friends.

a lovely crunchy coating of meringue

Jess and Jules came to supper on Saturday night and very kindly brought pudding. We have enjoyed their hospitality already and we took pudding ourselves so it has kind of set the tone.  I had mentioned when we were enjoying their grub and grog that my favourite pudding of all time was lemon meringue pie. Imagine my dribbling delight when 6 perfectly formed, single portion, lemon meringue pies arrived through our door at 8pm on Saturday night.

who gets the last one then?

I admire anyone who can make good pastry.  All my attempts are disastrous and I always end up buying it ready made. I’m pretty bad at yorkshire puddings too (my northern roots mean I am pretty ashamed to have to make that claim) so feel slightly let down by all things flour!!!

only crumbs left

My niece, my sis and my step mum all seem incredibly good at pastry as is my friend V (unquestionably good) and I really wish I could get it. Until I do, however, Jusroll is going to have to save me (or our friends are!)!!

Leave a Reply

