hare raising

happy hare

The furry one likes to chase hares. He seems to think he has a chance of catching one!

We put him on the lead when we know they are about but sometimes he picks up their scent or spots them before we are aware and off he goes!

still not bothered

It’s quite amusing to see his back end disappear at speed accompanied by a lot of ‘yip yipping’.  The hare that is firmly in his sites lollops along quite unconcerned and only opens the valves with a full on Formula One gear change to shake him off when the hare has had enough of this annoying noisy white thing. It’s all over pretty quickly.

I think I’ll move out of the way

At the moment, the hedgerows and verges are quite high and there isn’t a lot to be seen once hare and hotly pursuing terrier disappear into them. For a short while there is evidence of movement in the undergrowth but that soon becomes indiscernible when the distance between Max and the hare inevitably increases.

lolloping out of the way

Normally, we hear his over excited yipping while he is chasing and once it stops, it’s a sure sign that he has given up and he reappears defeated.

A couple of times recently he has obviously decided that silence is a stealthier way to approach the chase and it may promise more success.

It doesn’t work!

If I go this way he’ll be really confused

Eventually, a very tired little dog reappears with a happy look on his face.  I don’t think he registers these fruitless pursuits as failures. His optimism is never shaken in the face of defeat and I think he just thinks that it’s great fun.

has that thing not gone yet?

He seems to have a good nose and sniffs them out sometimes but as JC says, ‘there’s nothing wrong with his nose, it’s the stuff behind it that’s the problem!’

this’ll confuse him

His chasing continues and his enthusiasm for it is only matched by the speed of the departing Hare as it disappears.

His success rate remains as poor as it can be but boy does he sleep afterwards!

Those sleeps are probably filled with hare chasing dreams and his twitching limbs are probably out there running after them again. The yip yips that he no longer uses in his wake time chases, can now be heard in his dream time chases.

It’s very funny.

4 Comments on “hare raising”

  1. savingzeus says:

    Nothing better than a puppy dream! I have a six year rottwieler named Zeus and I think he dreams alot, leggs twitching and sometimes doing a running motion. Every once in a while, he wakes up looking a little confused, I am sure he is wondering how he ended up in his bed when he was just outside running in the breeze! I am a huge dog lover and stories like this make me smile! Thanks for sharing!

    All dog lovers, please check out my new bloggThat I have started for my six year old rottie Zeus who has a rare genetic disorder (an allergic reaction to antibiotics has caused his immune system to start attacking his joints causing him severe pain and making it difficult for him to walk). I love him so much and cannot imagine life without him. He needs extensive test and treatment and we are trying to raise enough money to save him. He is the most adorable, loving, and gentle giant in the world! I love him with all of my heart and it saddens me to see him struggling so much! I only hope we can raise enough money to save my beautiful boy! Please help by visiting our blogg page and passing the word along.

  2. thewienertakesitall says:

    Amazing pictures! Especially the last one – I think that’s one for the wall 🙂


Leave a Reply

