my favourite kind of house guest

Bosley!!!

One of my friends, Caroline, who I met dog walking (in the dark one winter morning I might add) has just been on holiday with her family (Nat and Drew).  Well, technically, she’s been on holiday with most of her family! There’s one member who stayed at home to keep order. We were lucky enough that he stayed home and took his own ‘holiday’ with us.

His name is Bosley and he is a very, very sweet and lovely black labrador.

‘sharing’ a bed…..

Although Bosley and Max have had their moments (mostly, I hasten to add, they have actually been Max’s moments!) they get along fine and I think there is a love of sorts there. They have been very settled and happy together this week.

Max definitely takes advantage of Bosley’s good nature and is sometimes just a bit mean to him. He takes stuff like toys from Bosley. Why does Max do it?…… because he can…….. and because Boz just goes ‘whatevs’….. I AIN’T BOVVERED!’

if I keep a paw on the bed, does that still count?

It’s a bit of a shame, though, because Max is mostly an un terrier like terrier. What I mean by that is that he isn’t yappy or snappy, doesn’t bite or cause trouble and is pretty laid back, loving and great fun.

It would be easy to say ‘nut up’ Boz but no one, including Caroline wants Bosley to ‘nut up’. He’s just perfect the way he is.

I have a soft spot for black labs and Max nearly was one (if you know what I mean!!) so Bosley comes to us with an already built in affection for him. I loved him a bit before cos he’s a lab, I loved him a bit before because he is a sweety, now I love him heaps because he is Bosley!!

He was with us on ‘holiday’ for a week and I didn’t want him to go home.

favourite sleeping place number 1

There is no doubt he missed Caroline, Natalie and little Drew but I’d like to think he has enjoyed his temporary home this week. Max and he quickly settled into a nice chilled out way with each other, they slept close, they played lots and they both seemed to enjoy the doggy distraction each other’s company offered.

JC hadn’t spent any time with Bosley prior to his holiday but he has clearly taken a real shine to Bosley (you couldn’t fail to to be honest) and has spent a lot of time playing with him and Max, he has kept up their command training and made sure they behaved. He’s loved it.  Affection from Bosley involves a lot of licking that is practically a shower, but it is very funny and he wouldn’t have it any other way.

Bosley takes up quite a bit more space than Max but he is so well behaved and a complete pleasure to have around. He has found his favourite places in our home quite quickly. One of them is the pond which is just a big mucky puddle to him and he likes those, another one is sleeping on the edge of Max’s bed and the other is right by the oven (just in case……..).

I’ll just settle here in case you need my help…….

We’ve done the usual ‘stupid o’clock’ walks in the morning near darkness, we’ve played, encouraged tricks and had big cuddles in front of the fire.  This is all the normal stuff we do with Max but Bosley has slotted in and become part of it. It has been fantastic.

He’s home now and I think he is happy to be home. Hopefully we are lucky enough to have him stay again.

Leave a Reply

